A Newsletter Reborn

Rebooting with Purpose: Lessons from a Year of Reflection

After a hiatus, I'm relaunching my newsletter. Here's what went wrong before and what I’ve changed:

My vision wasn’t clear

Initially, I aimed to create a newsletter for doctors interested in entrepreneurship, primarily by aggregating content. This approach failed because:

  1. The physician entrepreneur content landscape is too limited for effective aggregation.

  2. I preferred sharing my personal journey over maintaining a corporate-style newsletter.

  3. I realized that owning a traditional medical practice is essentially creating a job for yourself rather than building a business. So the life I was living didn’t align with the entrepreneurship content I wanted to produce.

I didn’t like my newsletter

Not only did my newsletter have an identity crisis, it was ugly:

Given the problems with the newsletter's vision, I lacked the motivation to invest time in redesigning it. Without a product I felt proud to promote, the newsletter stagnated.

Embracing change

I've since made significant life changes to pursue entrepreneurship.

My current focus on research, reflection, and experimentation makes this an ideal time to resume sharing my experiences.

Simplifying the Design Process

I adopted a pragmatic approach to redesigning my newsletter: I chose a single successful newsletter as a comprehensive reference for all design decisions. Marc Lou's newsletter served as my model.

This strategy offered two key advantages:

  1. It eliminated the need to invest extensive time in learning design principles from scratch.

  2. By limiting myself to one source of inspiration, I avoided the analysis paralysis that often comes with choosing between multiple design options for each element.

This focused method allowed me to efficiently create a professional-looking newsletter without getting bogged down in design details.

A clear mission emerges

Previously, I felt conflicted about time spent researching entrepreneurship while building my medical practice. Now, as I transition away from running a medical practice, I'm fully committed to entrepreneurship and eager to document this journey.

My goal is to provide insights for others considering the leap from a stable career to entrepreneurship. If you're on a similar path or know someone who is, this newsletter aims to be a valuable resource for you.

Reply

or to participate.