• Keith Newton
  • Posts
  • Why Now Is the Perfect Time for Doctors to Enter Tech

Why Now Is the Perfect Time for Doctors to Enter Tech

Leaving the Clinic Behind for a Life of Flexibility and Growth

After attending my first software conference this week, I've been thinking about why I'm diving into software. It's the first non-medical business I'm trying.

A big turning point came when I asked myself, "What does my ideal life look like?"

It sure doesn't involve seeing 60 patients a day while the system finds new ways to pay doctors less.

Here's what I want in my ideal life:

  1. Not Trading Time for Money

    I don't want my income tied directly to the hours I work. Owning a business can offer this freedom. But in a medical practice, if you're not seeing patients, you're not making money.

  2. No Limit on Earnings

    Most businesses offer unlimited earning potential, although this is more realistic in some businesses than others. If my lemonade becomes more popular than Coca-Cola, I'd be a billionaire, right?

  3. Time Freedom

    I don’t want to have appointments all day. I want time to dig deep on current problems, think, reflect, and explore future opportunities. I want a balanced life where I have time for exercise, family, friends, and fun.

  4. Work from Anywhere

    I don't want to be stuck in one place to make money. Being able to work from anywhere—even vacation spots—is a huge plus.

Goals 1 and 2 are possible in many businesses. But goals 3 and 4 are what really matter to me. If I just wanted financial freedom in 7-10 years, I might choose a roofing or HVAC business. But those would need a big time commitment and come with the hassles of running a large operation.

Why Software?

Although success is very unpredictable, selling software has big benefits that make it worth trying now.

Freedom of Location

I've spent years working over 40 hours a week in hospitals and clinics—places many find depressing. I'm ready to join those who can work wherever they want.

Scaling Up

Software is amazing for how much it can grow. The effort-to-reward ratio can be huge. And now, with AI, this is even more true.

The AI Boom

AI-assisted programming is changing everything. Tasks that took weeks or months can now be done much faster. It's not just about coding quicker; it's about opening doors that were closed before for small teams or individuals.

Some industry leaders think we'll soon see a one-person software company worth a billion dollars. That might sound crazy, but it shows how powerful AI is in software.

Catching the Wave

So, I'm ready to jump into this new area. I know there will be challenges, but the chance to match my work with the life I want is too good to pass up.

To my fellow doctors thinking about a change: now is a great time to look at options beyond clinical medicine. Whether it's software or something else that fits your dream life, the possibilities are greater than ever.

Let's grab them together.

Thanks for joining me on this journey. If you have thoughts or stories to share, I'd love to hear them. Together, we can make this transition and build the lives we've always wanted.

Reply

or to participate.