Quitting Caffeine

A Personal Reflection

The Decision to Quit

Eight months ago, I made a significant decision: I quit caffeine. It wasn't easy, as caffeine had been a part of my life for as long as I could remember. My use varied, increasing during stress and decreasing when I tried to cut back. At times, it reached excessive levels. I disliked the anxiety and confusion that caffeine caused. Caffeine let me work with intensity. But I often found I hadn't accomplished much.

I had attempted to quit before, but it was challenging. I'd abstain for a few months, then return when motivation lagged.

This time has been different. I find myself in a better position to live the life I desire. It's hard to credit changes to quitting caffeine with so many other things changing in my life. Still, if my performance stays the same or improves, it's proof I can manage without it. Let's explore how quitting caffeine has affected various aspects of my life.

Sleep Quality and Quantity

Sleep Duration

After quitting, my sleep increased. I'd sleep 12 hours daily, with regular naps. This initial period of increased sleep helped me feel more balanced and restored.

Now, I average seven hours of sleep per night, even with the chance to sleep longer. I suspect that, with better sleep hygiene, I could sleep for more than eight hours and feel even more refreshed.

Sleep Disturbances

Some believe that recovering from caffeine dependence only takes a few weeks. Yet, the sleep disturbances I've had argue otherwise. For at least two periods during this process, I'll wake up in the middle of the night, unable to fall back asleep. This problem occurs less often, now happening only a few times a month.

Increased Dream Vividness

Caffeine suppresses REM sleep. Since quitting, I've noticed more vivid dreams. Dreaming helps to process thoughts, giving me clarity when I'm awake.

Energy and Motivation

Morning Energy Levels

In my caffeine-consuming days, I'd often wake up energized, even before my first drink. I suspect it was due to the ever-present caffeine in my system or the anticipation of my first drink of the day.

Now, I wake up refreshed on most mornings. But sometimes there's a tiredness that is hard to shake. A bit more sleep resolves this, when I can get away with it. Otherwise, I move forward with my daily routine and soon feel fine. Either way, my morning energy is more calm, which is perfect for most of what I need to focus on anyways.

Consistent Energy Throughout the Day

Maintaining optimal energy levels to live my best life is a top priority for me. Yet I was so tired of caffeine's artificial energy that I didn't care how much energy I lost. The good news is that my energy is not only better than ever, but also consistent throughout the day.

Improved Focus and Flow

While on caffeine, I associated feeling wired with productivity. If I didn't feel like I was a rocket taking off, I believed I needed more caffeine or a nap. In the first few months after quitting, I had to retrain myself. I had to stop confusing that feeling with motivation.

I'm pleased to report that my energy and focus are now at their best without caffeine. The right task can put me in a flow state, immersing me in my work and making it hard to disengage. I rarely had this experience with caffeine, but it has become more common since quitting.

However, caffeine can make boring tasks seem interesting. This can help make a tedious life tolerable, which can be a trap.

Mental Clarity and Life Choices

Evaluating Priorities

As expected, my motivation bottomed out when I quit caffeine. Fortunately, I timed this to happen around Christmas, making it more manageable. As I began to recover, I saw that caffeine-fueled zeal had driven some parts of my life. After removing the caffeine, the excitement disappeared. This realization highlighted the potential dangers of relying on caffeine for artificial motivation.

Quitting caffeine may lead to one of the most significant changes in my life. It has allowed me to see what excited me and what didn't, enabling me to choose the life I want to build.

Increased Calm

I now feel a calm, steady energy without caffeine. I am less reactive to small annoyances, which is a big benefit.

Caffeine's anxiety-inducing effect has played a major role in this progress. A key change is the removal of nervous energy, the kind that makes people over-apologize. I suspect caffeine-related anxiety is a big, unrecognized problem. Many could reduce their anxiety by cutting back on caffeine.

It's convenient that society normalizes caffeine. Not only does it make work seem more engaging, but it also prevents you from noticing that the work is boring.

Challenges with Exercise

Exercise is the primary area where I can't tell if life without caffeine is better. Since quitting, my workouts have been less consistent and intense.

It's challenging to disentangle these issues from other ongoing life changes. I perform best when I exercise in the morning, but that is also when I'm most productive in my work. I'm in a critical transition in my life, so I've decided to use my mornings for work.

Since I'm less inclined to exercise later in the day, I'm more likely to skip working out altogether. I'm testing new ways to boost my motivation and will update you on my progress.

I'm unsure if I'll ever regain the energy that caffeine once gave me for intense weightlifting. Time will tell if my potential is truly capped or if there's a way to fix this.

Reduced Soda Consumption

I made the switch from regular Coke Zero to the caffeine-free version. The taste is the same. But, the urge to drink it is less without caffeine. This shows the reinforcing effects of caffeine in action.

Caffeine makes you pee more due to various physiological mechanisms. Combined with cutting my fluid intake, I'm making a lot fewer trips to the bathroom. Which is useful for focused productivity.

Conclusion

I realize speaking ill of caffeine is not going to be popular. Everyone's different, and it might be right for you. It was valuable to hear the stories of colleagues who have quit over the years, so I'm sharing mine.

I'd love to hear about your personal experiences with caffeine.

See you next week.

Reply

or to participate.