Quitting Caffeine: Part 2

From Morning Highs to Evening Lows

When I wrote about quitting caffeine before, I overlooked something important. While it wasn't a big deal for me, it could be significant for others.

Unexpected Evening Blues

Without caffeine, I sometimes felt bouts of sadness in the evenings. This was unusual - I don't often experience unprovoked sadness. Fortunately, these mood dips only occurred in the first six months after quitting.

I could recognize these moments and write off the evening. But it made me wonder: how would this affect someone who is already dealing with depression?

The Morning Caffeine High

Early in my caffeine-free journey, I frequented r/decaf. Someone there complained about how overwhelming caffeinated people can be in the morning. Soon after, I experienced this firsthand.

At a 7 a.m. meeting with coffee and bagels, I had an epiphany. The room erupted in laughter at a mildly amusing work joke. It hit me - these people were under the influence of a powerful drug. There's no way they'd have this enthusiasm at 3 p.m.

Chemically induced euphoria is fine if that's how people choose to live. But I suspect most don't realize caffeine's full effects.

The takeaway? Caffeine influences how we feel and act. We need to remember this if we decide to quit.

The Science is Mixed

Some studies link increased caffeine consumption to lower depression rates. Others show the opposite. Factors like sleep disturbances, anxiety, and caffeine dosage may play a role.

So we can't even agree on how caffeine affects people on average. We certainly can't know everything about how it affects you. Be mindful of your own individual response to continuing or stopping caffeine.

What This Means for You

  1. Notice how caffeine impacts your mood and energy.

  2. Recognize caffeine's influence on your daily interactions and performance.

  3. If quitting, prepare for possible mood changes.

  4. Remember, negative mood effects may be temporary but can last for months.

  5. If you have a history of mood disorders, consult your doctor before quitting.

Conclusion

Caffeine affects more than wakefulness. It impacts our feelings and interactions throughout the day. From experience, stopping caffeine can depress your mood. Although it's likely due to your body recalibrating, be prepared and be careful.

Have you changed your caffeine habits? What did you notice? Share your experiences in the comments.

Reply

or to participate.